Japanese Letters

The Japanese language has three types of characters: Hiragana, Katakana, and Kanji.
Hiragana and Katakana are phonetic symbols, each representing one syllable while Kanji is ideogram, each stand for certain meaning.

We'll show you one Kanji from each episode, related to the skit, explanation, or Trip tip. You’ll learn what it means and how it’s pronounced.

To Apps for learning Japanese letters, please click here.

*You will leave the NHK WORLD-JAPAN website