Shima Kosaku's Asian Entrepreneurs

Program outline

How did Asia's most prominent entrepreneurs know when to grasp opportunities? And how did they overcome difficulties and attain their positions of power? This series uses the unconventional technique of blending actual documentary footage with CG animation to get a close-up look into the front lines and what lies behind the scenes of Asian business.
Our cartoon host is Shima Kosaku, a character from a popular Japanese business manga. He delves into the heart of the Asian economic market representing 4 billion people, to visit entrepreneurs who have survived turbulent times. Thai business magnate, Dhanin Chearavanont (Chairman of CP Group), and innovative Taiwanese semiconductor entrepreneur, Morris Chang (Chairman of TSMC), are among the many movers and shakers to be featured. Don't miss this opportunity to glimpse the dramatic lives of these media-shy business titans.

News

  • NHK World TV is now broadcasting "Shima Kosaku's Asian Entrepreneurs" in English!

    NHK World TV is available 24 hours a day in more than 130 countries.
    For information on access, schedules, and Internet viewing, please follow this link: NHK World

Season4

Judy Chan(GRACE VINEYARD)

Delivering True Wine from China to the World

【BS1】9:00 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Friday, February 13

【NHK-WorldTV】10:30 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Thursday, March 26

Tan Passakornnatee(ICHITAN GROUP)

Creating a Craze for Japan in Asia

【BS1】9:00 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Friday, February 6

【NHK-WorldTV】10:30 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Thursday, March 19

Ahmet Zorlu (Vestel)

Aiming for the World from the Crossroads

【BS1】9:00 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Friday, January 30

【NHK-WorldTV】10:30 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Thursday, March 12

Vikrom Kromadit (Amata Corporation)

ASEAN's Advance Hand-in-Hand with Japan

【BS1】5:00 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Monday, January 26

【NHK-WorldTV】10:30 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Thursday, February 26

Seung Hyun Chang(HANDS CORPORATION)

Leading the Change from "Competition" to "Cooperation"

【BS1】9:00 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Friday, January 16

【NHK-WorldTV】10:30 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Thursday, February 19

Salman F Rahman(BEXIMCO PHARMA)

Saving Lives with Affordable Medicine

【BS1】9:00 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Friday, January 9

【NHK-WorldTV】10:30 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Thursday, January 29

Sei-Youg Oh(KOLAO GROUP)

Success Lies Waiting in Frontier Markets

【BS1】9:00 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Friday, November 14

【NHK-WorldTV】10:30 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Thursday, December 11

Wang Zhenghua(Spring Tour)

Finding the True Feelings of the Chinese

【BS1】9:00 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Friday, November 7

【NHK-WorldTV】10:30 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Thursday, December 4

Season3

Kith Meng(Royal Group)

Rebuilding His War-Torn Nation

【BS1】8:00 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Sunday, August 24

【NHK-WorldTV】9:10 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Saturday, October 4

Liang Wengen(SANY Heavy Industry)

Change the world with your own technology

【BS1】8:00 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Sunday, August 17

【NHK-WorldTV】9:10 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Saturday, September 20

Season2

Dong Mingzhu(GREE)

Doing Business "Fair & Square"

【BS1】11:20 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Wednesday, February 5

【NHK-WorldTV】0:30 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Thursday, March 13

Serge Pun (SPA Group)

Riding the Wave of "Open Markets"

【BS1】11:20 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Wednesday, January 29

【NHK-WorldTV】0:30 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Thursday, February 27

Truong Gia Binh(FPT)

Challenging the Elephant with the "Ant-soldier Strategy"

【BS1】11:20 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Wednesday, January 22

【NHK-WorldTV】0:30 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Thursday, February 20

Ho Kwon Ping(Banyan Tree)

Producing an Asian Brand

【BS1】11:20 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Wednesday, January 15

【NHK-WorldTV】0:30 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Thursday, February 13

Senta Wong(WKK)

People-centered Management Creates a Skilled Workforce

【BS1】11:20 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Wednesday, December 18

【NHK-WorldTV】0:30 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Thursday, January 30

Chairul Tanjung (CT Corp)

Business Success Through Helping His People

【BS1】11:20 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Wednesday, December 11

【NHK-WorldTV】0:30 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Thursday, January 23

Zhang Yong (Hai Di Lao)

Ultimate Service Attracts Customers

【BS1】11:20 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Wednesday, December 4

【NHK-WorldTV】0:30 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Thursday, January 16

Aloke Lohia (Indorama Ventures)

Global Success through Localization

【BS1】11:20 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Wednesday, November 27

【NHK-WorldTV】0:30 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Thursday, January 9

Li Dongsheng (TCL)

Speed is the Key!

【BS1】11:20 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Wednesday, November 20

【NHK-WorldTV】0:30 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Thursday, December 19

King Liu (GIANT)

Surviving as the Only One!

【BS1】11:20 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Wednesday, November 13

【NHK-WorldTV】0:30 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Thursday, December 12

Season1

Episode 6
Sultan Bin Sulayem [DP World]:

Dubai's Race to Be Number One

【BS1】0:00am, Japan Standard Time (JST),Friday, October 4

【NHK-WorldTV】0:10 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Sunday, November 17

Episode 5
Odjargal Jambaljamts [MCS Group]:

Dealing with Geographical Destiny

【BS1】0:00 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Friday, September 6

【NHK-WorldTV】9:10 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Saturday, October 26

Episode 4
Zhang Ruimin [Haier]:

Changing the Employee Mindset

【BS1】0:00 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Friday, August 2

【NHK-WorldTV】0:10 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Sunday, September 22

Episode 3
Tony Fernandes [AirAsia]:

"Regulation Breaker"

【BS1】0:00 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Friday, July 5

【NHK-WorldTV】11:10 pm, Japan Standard Time (JST), Saturday, August 17

Episode 2
Morris Chang [TSMC]:

A "Subcontractor" Changes the World

【BS1】0:00 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Friday, June 7

【NHK-WorldTV】0:10 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Sunday, July 21

Episode 1
Dhanin Chearavanont [CP Group]:

"Risk Investment" in China

【BS1】0:00 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Friday, May 10

【NHK-WorldTV】9:10 am, Japan Standard Time (JST), Saturday, June 15

Top